Inheritance Law in the Canadian Province of Quebec

Posted by:

Canada is a federal state composed of ten (10) provinces, which has the exclusive jurisdiction to legislate in matters of private law within their respective territory. All Canada is governed by the Common Law of English origin, the sole exception being the Province of Québec, heir to French civil law and inspired by the Napoleonic Code.
Following the British conquest of New France, French-Canadians became subjects of the British crown. However, they remained attached to French law and obtained its continuing application ...

Poursuivre la lecture →